Steps forward and back

craft

So since I last blogged here, what’s been going on?

  • I’ve written about 80k of my MG novel, possibly even more, spiralling around in myriad directions
  • I rejoined and actually became more active in SCBWI, including going to the conference in Winchester last November
  • Through SCBWI, I’ve found a brilliant critique group
  • This month I’m doing ReFoReMo and shortly will be starting Kristen Fulton’s Non-Fiction Archaeology course.

In short, there’s still writing happening (life got in the way a little bit too, with some health stuff and a house move) and paradoxically some confidence issues after some people were nice about my work. More on that later.

But I realised that much as I was having fun just writing, I was getting demoralised by the fact that there was no discernable end in sight. Even if what I’m writing isn’t ever published, it’s important to me that it’s finished, and then that it’s polished. I need to believe in the story, and love it, to keep faith with it through that undeniably lengthy process.

From reading more critically, and various useful techniques that I gained from the Urban Writers’s Six Month Novel course, and from SCBWI conference sessions, I realised that despite having all kinds of ‘story’ experience (editorial background, degree in media and screenwriting) it was time to go back to basics and improve my craft dramatically. Hence all the courses and “learnin'” that’s going on around here at the moment.

Sometimes going backwards is just as much fun as going forwards.

Leave a Reply

